This advice comes from Food Standards Agency Scotland
The Trade Descriptions Act 1968 prohibits false or misleading descriptions.
Labels for vegetarian and vegan are voluntary. If not on the label, you must read the list of ingredients.
Food Labelling 2004 Regulations state that all Compound ingredients used in a product – such as sponge fingers in a trifle – must list their ingredients. Except jam, chocolate, mixed herbs and spices, and ingredients that are less than 2% of finished product.
But allergenic ingredients must be shown such as sesame, gluten, eggs.
The term vegetarian must not be used for foods that are made from dead animals.
The term vegan cannot be used for foods that are made from dead animals or from products from living animals – for example, milk.
Products made from living animals include milk, eggs, honey, bee pollen.
Products made with the help of these products include cheese made with rennet, yogurt made from gelatine, whey, additives, flavourings and carriers such as lecithins.